About Us

Our Mission

The U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame is a 501c3 non-profit organization dedicated to recognizing American competitive cyclists and contributors to the sport for their significant achievements.  Its mission is to preserve the history of American cycling in order to educate people about the past and encourage them to participate in the future of the sport.  Encouraging all levels of cycling, the U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame promotes cycling development and fitness.

America’s Great Cycling Legacy

Most Americans are unaware that during the early 20th century, bicycle racing was a more popular spectator sport than baseball. Champion cyclists like Frank Kramer and Major Taylor earned more than the highest paid baseball players of their day including Ty Cobb. Six-day races ran around-the-clock to sold out crowds and head-to-head racing filled venues to capacity in Newark, New York, and Salt Lake City.


The foundation of the U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame is built upon the recognition of the competitors and contributors to the sport of cycling.

Since 1987, there has been an annual induction of Americans who have achieved tremendous success in racing or have enhanced the sport of cycling through innovation, coaching, and their participation.

Past inductees include legends such as Greg LeMond, Juliana Furtado, Nelson Vails, Frank Kramer, Cheri Elliott, Alf Goullet, Major Taylor, Ned Overend, and Connie Carpenter-Phinney.

The U.S. Bicycling Hall of Fame exists to preserve and communicate the rich history of American cycling spanning from the champions of the 1880’s to today’s elite athletes.

All Aspects of the Sport

The Hall of Fame recognizes all disciplines within the sport of cycling including road, track, cyclocross, BMX, and mountain biking.